Burlingame High School Music Programs

Questions or comments you'd like the Music Boosters Executive Committee to consider? Attend a Music Boosters meeting or submit them online here.

Introduction to music at Burlingame High School

The BHS Music Department band and choir classes are open to all BHS students and begin on the first day of school as part of the students’ regular class schedule.

The Band Program is directed by Kristin Kunzelman.

The Choral Program is directed by Shawn Reifschneider.

The BHS bands and choirs entertain at home football and basketball games, pep rallies, community events, parades, graduation, and numerous concerts. As part of the music education curriculum, all band classes combine together to form the Marching Band and Pep Band. In addition the band and choral ensembles annually compete at Music Festivals such as Heritage Festivals and California Music Educators Association (CMEA) Festivals.

Those enrolled in band and choir are also offered an opportunity to audition for select groups that rehearse outside of the regular school day. Jazz Band is offered before school, while Chamber Singers is scheduled after school. Auditions are in the spring for the following school year.

Connect and contribute

We will strive to keep the music calendar up-to-date. So come here to view it or subscribe to it.

Email is the primary method of communicating with all students and parents, so register here to stay in the know. (No need to register if you already receive emails from Music Boosters)

Donations are critical to covering our music program costs. Donate here to ensure a quality educational experience continues.

What's Happening Next?

December 2018

Thurs Dec 20 Music Boosters Meeting, 7:00pm, BHS Music Room

Fri Dec 21 Basketball Game: Most of the band 6pm call time

January 2019

Thurs Jan 17 Music Boosters Meeting, 7:00pm, BHS Music Room

Fri Jan 18 CMEA Jazz Festival, Mills HS, Jazz Band Performs, 3:30pm

Fri Jan 18 BHS Basketball (Quad) Game, Pep Band Performs (half of band)

Thurs Jan 31 BIS/BHS 4th Annual Joint Concert, 7:00pm, BHS Theater


February 2019

Fri Feb 1 BHS Basketball (Quad) Game, Pep Band Performs (half of band)

Mon Feb 11 Choir Rehearsal, 6:00pm, SMPAC

Thurs Feb 14 Choir Concert, 7:00pm, SMPAC

Thurs Feb 21 Music Boosters Meeting, 7:00pm, BHS Music Room


March 2019

Thurs, Mar 14 Open House, band and choir combos perform

Fri Mar 15 Children’s Concert, 10:00am, BHS Gym (minimum day at school)

Thurs Mar 21 Music Boosters Meeting, 7:00pm, BHS Music Room

Mon Mar 25 Choir Trip Parent Info Night and Choir Rehearsal, 6:30 pm, SMHS Music Bldg.

Mar 28-Apr 1 Choir Tour


April 2019

Thurs Apr 18 Music Boosters Meeting, 7:00pm, BHS Music Room

**** Sat Apr 27 Play-a-Thon ****


May 2019

Wed May 1 Spring Band Concert, 7:00pm, BHS Theater

Mon May 13 Choir Rehearsal, 6:00pm, SMPAC

Thurs May 16 Choir Concert, 7:00pm, SMPAC

Sat May 18 CMEA Band/Orchestra Festival, Wind Ensemble Performs, Time TBA

Wed May 22 Year-end Awards and Potluck Dinner, 6:00pm-8:00pm, BHS Cafeteria

Mon May 27 Hillsborough Memorial Day Parade, 10:00am, BHS Marching Band, Band Uniforms worn

Thurs May 30 BHS Graduation, Time TBA, All Choir and (non-Senior) Band, BHS Football Field

Recent Events

Winter Concerts

Jazz Band, Concert Band, and Wind Ensemble - Full Video of Concert

https://youtu.be/UFIad4jddOc

Jazz Band is at the beginning

Concert Band is at: 20:40

Wind Ensemble is at: 40:30

Little Big Game

More great pictures from LBG by Xiaoling Wu- click here

Halloween at Washington and McKinley Schools


Photo by June Hee

Field Show Goes Live

Photos and videos by Daniel Herman

Legally Blond

Photos by June Hee

Burlingame Pet Parade

Photos by Xiaoling Wu and June Hee

Candids

Photos by Chrissy Carroll

More photos and videos here: Photos and Videos

This Website is supported and maintained by BHS Music Boosters. For more information got to: About BHS Music Boosters